Rep. Estes Votes to Elect McCarthy as Speaker

WASHINGTON – Before being sworn into the 118th Congress, Rep. Ron Estes (R-Kansas) voted to elect Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-California) as the Speaker of the House.

"Two years of one-party rule in Washington is finally over, and Republicans are ready to deliver for the American people," said Rep. Estes. "Our agenda to restore our country will make an economy that's strong, a nation that's safe, a future built on freedoms, and a government that's accountable. After adopting significant rules changes that will ensure leadership is accountable and the House is restored to regular order, Speaker McCarthy has earned the trust of 97.3% of the Republican Conference and will advance our conservative, America First agenda."

Following 15 rounds of ballots, Republicans overwhelmingly voted in favor of Rep. McCarthy, with the final vote among Republicans 216 to 6. While this many ballots for Speaker are unusual, it is not unprecedented. The 34th Congress voted 133 times over the course of about two months before electing a Speaker. Speaker McCarthy continually received support from conservatives like Reps. Estes, Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Harriet Hageman (R-Wyoming), Ken Buck (R-Colorado), and Thomas Massie (R-Kentucky), while also receiving support on the final ballot from Reps. Scott Perry (R-Pennsylvania), Chip Roy (R-Texas) and Byron Donalds (R-Florida).

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.